St. John’s Farmers’ Market

Board of Directors

The St. John’s Farmers’ Market is a dual stakeholder co-operative with vendors and consumers each electing six board members, who serve for two-year terms.

The 2019 - 2020 Board

Evan Murray

Chair, Vendor Member

With a background in Environmental Science and Horticulture, Evan Murray has a passion for gardening and farming with a holistic approach. Operating out of Portugal Cove, he works with his partner, Brian Kowalski, to manage Murray Meadows Farm, an organic vegetable farm located on his family’s multi-generational agricultural land.

Dominic Foley

Consumer Member

Dominic is an associate lawyer at O’Dea Earle in St. John’s, where he maintains a general practise with emphasis on corporate, real estate, and personal injury law. A former educator and avid SJFM consumer, Dominic hails from Fogo Island where he developed a keen interest in traditional farming and foraging skills. Dominic hopes to encourage dialogue and knowledge exchange between the SJFM and other local farmers’ markets province-wide.

Sonya Clarke Casey

Vice-Chair, Consumer Member

Sonya Clarke Casey joined the board in 2018. She is a social worker at the First Light Friendship Centre and has spent much of her career in community development. Sonya has been a long-time farmers’ market groupie and is excited to lend her hand to the new market.

Emily Hunt

Treasurer, Vendor Member

Emily Hunt has been a vendor since the very first St. John’s Farmers’ Market in 2008, and an active board member since 2014. She was the Marketing and Fundraising chair for four years and is now excited to take on a new role as treasurer.

Lori Greene

Secretary, Vendor Member

Lori Greene has been involved with the Market since the beginning. She was a founder of the Market and has been a part of its evolution in a variety of ways- from board member to customer to vendor. These days you can find Lori selling crepes with her husband, Colin.

Kim Cleary

Vendor Member

Kim Cleary is new to the board this year and has taken on the role of Marketing and Fundraising chair. Kim is the owner of Velvet Snow Accessories and has been a long time vendor at SJFM.

Aimee Sheppard

Consumer Member

Aimee Sheppard is a Senior Communications Advisor with Husky Energy. She supports employee engagement through internal communications, community investment and diversity and inclusion initiatives. She is a consumer with a hearty appetite for curry, cookies and creativity, to name a few things. She looks forward to helping the market take root and grow in its new home.

Greg Whelan

Consumer Member

Greg helps clients buy and sell homes as a Realtor, and also performs freelance translations (Brazilian Portuguese to English). Involved with SJFM over past 4 years as a Consumer. Other Volunteer activities: CBS Lions Club, Topsail Elementary “Kiss-n-Go” program, girls minor soccer coach and conversational English classes at RIAC.

Alison Doyle

Consumer Member

Alison Doyle is a lawyer working for the Department of Justice in St. John’s. She became involved with the SJFM as a volunteer coordinator in its early stages, and served as a board member when the Market transitioned to a Co-operative. Alison is eager to support the continued growth, sustainability and success of the Market.

Joshua Smee

Consumer Member

Joshua Smee is a community developer by profession, currently employed as Provincial Expansion Coordinator at Choices for Youth. He has served on the Board of the SJFM since 2012 and as Chair from 2014-2017/18. Outside of the Market, he is involved in numerous other community and music organizations.

Jonathan Richler

Vendor Member

Previous Board members of the Co-op or the precursor Friends of the St. John’s Farmers' Market include:

  • Colin Greene
  • Kristie Jameson
  • Oz Rabinowitz
  • Dan Ficken
  • Devon Crosby
  • Alison Doyle
  • Kristen Lowitt
  • Patsy Gosse
  • Lori Greene
  • Michelle May
  • Laurie Butt
  • Jim Winter
  • C. Dean Barnes
  • Sarah MacAuley
  • Lori Greene
  • Shelley Pardy
  • Emily Martin
  • Adam Blanchard
  • Jen Daniels
  • Andrea Dicks
  • Hannah Gaultois
  • Kevin Zhao
  • Erin McArthur